Dalai Lama visits Syracuse University for Common Ground for Peace forum

I was fortunate enough to receive a ticket from my COM 400: Social Media U Need 2 Know professor, Dr. William Ward (@DR4WARD), to attend the afternoon disscussion panel on Monday entitled, “Shifting the Global Consciousness.” Sitting in the audience of some of the most influential peace keepers of todays world was a rewarding and emotional experience. I could feel the passion from each panelist has he or she spoke about issues such as violence portrayed in video games and educating the younger generation to find their inner peace. I actually teared up at the end as I watched Liel Kolet and The Voices of Peace Choir perform a heartfelt song.

Although the tone of the afternoon discussion panel on Monday was serious, Ann Currry kept the audience alive by making humorous comments and joking with some of the panelists. The Dalai Lama also joked a lot with with the panelists to lighten the mood. Laughter filled Goldstein Auditorium in the Schine Student Center multiple times.

During the panel, I spent most of my time live tweeting. Unlike some of my classmates, I didn’t find it distracting. I think live tweeting is a good way to keep people who weren’t at the event informed. It’s nothing new for my class #NewhouseSM4 for to trend nationally or globally, so we were that excited about the event hashtags trending nationally. What was new for us was the impressive analytics: #CGPDemocracy & #CGPGlobal, the two discussion panel hashtags—generated over 2 million impressions and reached 400,000+ followers; #OneWorldConcert, the concert hashtag—1,500 tweets generated 6,607,287 impressions reaching an audience of 3,265,552 followers throughout the day on Tuesday. By using social media, we were helping the Dalai Lama spread peace and happiness throughout the world.

Below is a link to the #storify I created on the event.

http://storify.com/acptachi/dalai-lama-visits-syracuse-university

Tagged , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Dalai Lama visits Syracuse University for Common Ground for Peace forum

  1. lduda says:

    I especially agree with your perspective on live-tweeting! So many people find it annoying, but I think it is a fabulous way to instantaneously share what we’re learning with the rest of the world.

  2. Megan Griffo says:

    Nice post- I like how you analyzed what live tweeting the event was like. I felt the same way while doing it. Maybe to highlight some of your main points you can use some color. Which speaker did you most enjoy hearing?

  3. Danny says:

    Coll stuff. Well done on the storify!

  4. dconnors5 says:

    Good stuff. Well done with the storify!

  5. Joel Raneri says:

    Great post Alex! It was cool to see all of the statistics of the events! Just a tip, I think your first sentence is unfinished.

  6. gsyellin says:

    Interesting thoughts on live-tweeting at the event. Was your goal to help people follow along during the discussions or was that something that occurred to you after? Either way, great post, enjoyed reading it!

  7. I don’t find twitter as a distraction either. I think it adds a lot to the experience. Like I said in my blog post, rather than passively watching, you actively engage.

  8. Lauren says:

    Nice post! I like your blog set up. You mentioned you don’t find live tweeting distracting? How are you able to tweet while still comprehending the next thing being said?

  9. acptachi says:

    Thanks for all the feedback and suggestions everyone. I was disappointed that I couldn’t figure out how to embed my storify directly into my post, but I was able to link to it.

    I think MLK III was my favorite panelist. He had some really deep stuff to say about violence and how to create peace. I felt like he was representing the United States on the international panel and I think he did a nice job.

    Joel, thanks for the tip. I definitely left out the name of the panel, but it’s fixed now.

    I think live tweeting events keeps me on my toes. I am listening for the next best quote or piece of information to share with my followers. This event was especially easy to live tweet because the closed caption was directly to my right and I kept reading it to make sure I understood what was said. Ben said it perfectly “rather than passively watching, you actively engage.”

  10. domain says:

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this
    website. I am hoping to view the same high-grade content by you in the future as
    well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own,
    personal website now 😉

Leave a Reply

